Curveball #1

It was March 13th 2000, a typical day at school everything was going really great that day. I had plans to hang out with my friend Courtney during second recess when suddenly I was sent down to the office where my step-dad Wally was waiting for me to take me home. Score, half day I thought to myself. The ride home seemed normal as usual but when I walked in the house I saw my mom I could tell she had been crying. There were two glasses of water set on the coffee table in front of the couch and my mom had me and my sister Samantha sit down, then came the news. My mom told us our father had passed away. I remember my sister laughing and telling my mom that her joke was not funny. After a few times of being told that this was real my sister and I began to cry as one would expect.

mom-and-dad-1

What I realized

My dad’s untimely death taught me that you never know what life is going to throw at you and you never know when your last day on earth will be. It taught me not to sweat the small stuff, even though I still have my moments. Most importantly it showed me how important family is and that death isn’t scary, it is just a part of life. To this day I cannot stay mad at someone and cannot handle conflict, I have to fix issues as soon as they happen because I never want the last thing I say to someone to be negative. The personal connection and unfamiliar of death forced me to open up and talk to people because I could not decipher my emotions alone. As a result I learned how to be there for others who eventually started to face similar situations as I did.

Curveball #1 helped shape me by making me:

1: An open book

2: A good listener

3: Adventurous

